Go to navigation Go to content

The August Prize

Three award winners of the August Prize 2019 and the title Best Swedish Book of the Year were announced on November 25th in the categories non-fiction, fiction and children & young adult.


Title: Ålevangeliet. Berättelsen om världens mest gåtfulla fisk
Author: Patrik Svensson
Publishing house: Albert Bonniers förlag


Title: Osebol
Author: Marit Kapla
Publishing house: Teg Publishing

Children & Young Adult

Title: Vänta på vind
Author: Oskar Kroon
Publishing house: Brombergs

Since 1994 each year a young promising author between the age of 16 to 20 receives the Junior August Prize, this year Emma-karin Rehnman was awarded the prize for the novel En ospelad fiol.


The August Prize is named after the famous Swedish author August Strindberg, and is one of the most celebrated and prestigious literary prizes in Sweden.

Founded by the Swedish Publishers’ Association in 1989, the intention was to institute an annual award for the best Swedish books of the year in order to increase public interest in Swedish contemporary literature.

Read more about the August Prize on the official website